LearnDesigning for 3D printing
Free CAD software for 3D printing: what is actually free in 2026
Nine free CAD tools for 3D printing, checked against their own licence pages: commercial use, file limits, offline use, STL and STEP export.
· 10 min read

"Free" on a CAD download page can mean public domain or it can mean a three-year hobbyist licence with ten editable files. Every licence, limit and price below comes from the tool's own licence, pricing or help page, read this week.
The short answer
The best free CAD software for 3D printing depends on what "free" has to cover. FreeCAD 1.1 is free for personal and commercial work, runs offline, and exports STL and STEP, so it is the safest long-term pick for functional parts. Tinkercad is free for everyone and exports STL in a browser, which makes it the quickest first step, though it has no STEP export. Autodesk Fusion for personal use is the most powerful free option, but it is limited to non-commercial hobbyists earning under 1,000 USD a year, caps you at 10 editable documents, and runs on a three-year licence. Onshape Free gives you professional cloud CAD with STL and STEP export, but every document is public and commercial use is not allowed. Blender and OpenSCAD are fully free too, but one is built for figures and the other for code, so neither suits a dimensioned bracket. If you would rather skip CAD, a text-to-CAD tool can build a parametric part from a written description.
What free actually means
| Tool | Free tier | Commercial use | File or project limits | Offline | Exports STL / STEP |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FreeCAD 1.1.3 | Whole program, LGPL 2.1 | Yes | None | Yes | STL yes / STEP yes |
| Tinkercad | Whole app, browser | Not restricted in the Terms | Not stated | No (web app) | STL yes / STEP no |
| Fusion for personal use | Limited version, 3-year term | No, hobbyists under 1,000 USD a year | 10 editable documents | Cloud app, not stated | STL yes / STEP yes |
| Onshape Free | Full CAD, non-commercial | No | All documents public | No (web app) | STL yes / STEP yes |
| OpenSCAD 2021.01 | Whole program, GPL 2 | Yes | None | Yes | STL yes / STEP no |
| SolveSpace 3.2 | Whole program, GPL 3 | Yes | None | Yes | STL yes / STEP yes |
| Blender 5.2 | Whole program, GPL | Yes | None | Yes | STL yes / STEP no |
| SelfCAD Free | Free plan, web and PC | Not stated | Unlimited projects | Not stated | Mesh export yes / STEP no |
| DesignSpark Mechanical Explorer | Free plan, desktop | Yes, on subscription plans | Not stated | Yes, with a licence check | STL not stated / STEP needs Creator |
"Not stated" means the page I read did not say. Read the Notes for the editor at the end for the exact lines.
Tinkercad: first print this afternoon
Tinkercad is Autodesk's browser app for beginners and classrooms. Its homepage says "Free for everyone. No downloads. No strings attached." You build parts by combining and subtracting blocks, then press Export and pick OBJ, STL or GLTF. STEP is not on that list.
The Terms of Service say Autodesk does not claim any ownership rights in your content. The only commercial clause forbids reselling the service itself. Selling a print of a Tinkercad design is not something the Terms forbid.
The licence is generous. The tool runs out first. Block modelling gets slow once a part needs a chamfer, a fillet and a hole pattern that has to match a real bracket. The r/3Dprinting thread on free CAD for beginners sums up the usual path: "TinkerCAD is pretty basic but you can do a lot with it. I used it until I needed more features." When you get there, the easy CAD for 3D printing guide ranks the next steps by hours to first part.
FreeCAD: free for everyone, forever, offline
FreeCAD is the tool that ranks first for this search, and for once the SEO is right. It is an open-source parametric modeller under the LGPL 2.1, so you can use it for work or for things you sell. The homepage says it plainly: "No sign-up, no paywall, no restrictions." It runs on Windows, Mac and Linux, needs no account and no internet, and reads and writes STEP, STL, IGES, DXF, OBJ and more.
Version 1.1 shipped in March 2026 and the current stable build is 1.1.3. The 1.1 release brought transparent Part Design previews, draggers on Fillet and Chamfer, and a Clarify Selection tool.
The downside is the learning curve. The top comment in the Reddit thread, with 53 upvotes, is "Onshape if you want it super easy. Fusion360 if you want it pretty and easy. Freecad if you really hate yourself." That was 2023. Releases 1.0 and 1.1 have sanded off a lot since, but Sketcher still asks more of a beginner than Fusion does.
Autodesk Fusion for personal use: the most capable, the most rules
Fusion for personal use is where "free" needs the most reading. It is a limited version of Fusion offered as a three-year licence to hobbyists. Autodesk's special terms: "For personal, non-commercial projects only. Limited to individuals generating less than $1,000 USD annually and not for use in primary employment, company environments, or commercial training." Cross the 1,000 USD line, or design anything you sell, and you must move to the paid plan at 680 USD a year list price.
The document cap is the part people trip on. You can keep unlimited designs in your account, but only 10 can be editable at any time. The rest sit read-only until you swap one out.
Exports survived the 2020 cuts better than the rumours suggest. The rules have not changed since then. Autodesk's knowledge-base article, last updated July 28, 2025, restates them and lists local export of STEP, STL, OBJ, F3D, F3Z, IPT, FBX, SMT and SKP, with DXF only from a sketch. STEP was on the chopping block in 2020 and then reprieved. The confusing part is Autodesk's own comparison page, as it reads today. It shows "Compatible for 3D printing" and "File export" with a checkmark in the paid column only, while ticking "FFF additive manufacturing" for both plans a few rows higher. Readers have been drawing the wrong conclusion from Autodesk's marketing for years. A 2023 Reddit commenter decided Fusion "supposedly isn't compatible for 3D printing, unless you want to spend $680/year". The knowledge base says STL export stays. Both are Autodesk pages. That mismatch is why this article exists.
Fusion is a cloud application. Your designs live on Autodesk's servers, which is handy across devices and awkward if you ever lose eligibility. If you used Fusion for brackets and adapters and want out, the Fusion 360 alternatives post is written for that reader.
Onshape Free: professional CAD, in public
Onshape Free is full parametric CAD in a browser, with parts, assemblies, drawings and sheet metal. Onshape's pricing FAQ says it is "for hobbyists and learners. Non-commercial only, with public document storage." The same FAQ is blunt about the line: "Only paid plans support private data and commercial use." The first paid plan, Standard, is 1,500 USD per user per year.
Public means anyone can find and copy your documents. For a phone stand that is fine. For a part you might sell one day, it is not. Export is not gated by plan in the help docs: STEP, STL, 3MF, OBJ and Parasolid all come out of the same dialog. There is nothing to install, so there is nothing to run offline.
OpenSCAD: parts as code
OpenSCAD is a scripting language for solids. You write cylinder(d=8, h=20) and the viewer draws it. It is GPL 2, free for any use, and runs offline. The last numbered release is 2021.01. The project ships development snapshots in between.
It exports STL, OFF, AMF and 3MF. It cannot export STEP, because it works on meshes rather than boundary representations. Programmers love it. From the Reddit thread: "If you have a programming background, you should try out OpenSCAD." If you already think in parameters, it is the shortest path to a part with sliders, and the OpenSCAD vs FreeCAD post shows the same gear in both.
SolveSpace: small, strict, STEP out
SolveSpace is a parametric 2D/3D CAD tool under the GPL 3. The current release is 3.2. It is a few megabytes, runs offline, and has a constraint solver that tells you which points are still loose. It exports triangle meshes as STL and OBJ, and NURBS surfaces as STEP, so a machine shop can read what you made.
It suits brackets, plates and simple assemblies. It has no fillet-on-solid tool and no history tree, so it stops scaling before FreeCAD does.
Blender: free for figures, wrong for brackets
Blender's licence page is the clearest statement of "free" on this list: "What you create with Blender is your sole property," and "Blender can be used commercially." It needs no registration and makes no internet connection. It exports STL, OBJ and PLY out of the box. STEP is not in the manual's import and export list.
Blender sculpts meshes. Siraya Tech's roundup puts it well: it "shines for organic shapes and fine detail, but it has a steep learning curve and no parametric workflow, so it is not the fastest route for precise mechanical parts." Use it for miniatures. Use something else for a part with a bore.
SelfCAD and DesignSpark Mechanical: free plans with an upsell
SelfCAD Free is 0 USD "forever" and covers unlimited projects, mesh and solid import, mesh export, boolean operations and a built-in STL slicer. Sculpting, rendering and 3D sketching are ticked only on Pro, at 14.99 USD a month or 11.99 USD billed annually. The pricing page says nothing about commercial use or offline work, though there is a PC app alongside the web app.
DesignSpark Mechanical Explorer is the free tier of RS Components' push-pull modeller. The FAQ answers the commercial question directly: "Yes, commercial use is allowed on the DesignSpark subscription plans. You will have full ownership (including Intellectual Property) of any project you create with our software." It works offline after a licence check, which recurs if the app has been closed for more than two hours. The catch is formats. "Import/Export STEP, IGES, AutoCAD DWG and DXF formats" is ticked only for the paid Creator and Engineer tiers.
Free trials of paid tools
A trial ends. Here is what each one lets you keep.
- Plasticity is not free. The 30-day trial allows "STEP import, low resolution OBJ/STL export. No other formats" and "No commercial use allowed." A perpetual Indie licence is 175 USD.
- Autodesk Fusion offers a 30-day full-feature trial. After that you drop to personal use if you qualify.
- Onshape runs a Discovery Program with up to six months of Professional for approved applicants.
- SelfCAD gives new accounts a 10-day Pro trial before settling into Free.
- Type Parts lets you make one part with no account. You type the part in plain words and get a parametric model with sliders and checks. The free tier is preview only. STL export needs the Hobby plan at 15 USD a month, and STEP needs Maker at 49 USD a month, both tax-exclusive. Signing up adds 4 credits. See pricing for the full split.
That last one is a different kind of tool. It does not ask you to learn CAD. A model writes a build123d script with named parameters and checks, a sandbox runs it, and moving a slider re-runs it at no cost. It only does mechanical parts. The text-to-CAD guide explains how that pipeline differs from mesh generators and from a chatbot pasting code.
Picking one
Free with no asterisks, for functional parts: install FreeCAD. Never modelled anything: open Tinkercad today and expect to outgrow it. Hobbyist who will never sell a print and wants the most tool for zero dollars: Fusion for personal use, with the terms reread once a year. Everyone else should look at the full CAD software ranking, which sorts paid and free tools by what you are making rather than by brand.